What is CAS Test?

CAS Test ; It was developed to determine the competence and level of school-age children in cognitive processes. CAS Test in general; It is used to determine the cognitive processing areas that are strong and weak in learning, to classify (learning difficulties, attention deficit, mental disability, superiority, etc.), and to evaluate education and treatment programs.

The CAS Test is also used to evaluate the following situations;

  1. Evaluation of Children with Attention Deficit and Hyperactivity Disorder

  2. Evaluation of People with Learning Disabilities

  3. Evaluation of Mental Retardation

  4. Evaluation of Patients with Traumatic Brain Injury

  5. Evaluation of Those with Serious Emotional Disorders

  6. Evaluation of Gifted Children

  7. Identifying Those with Planning Problems

  8. Prediction of Success

In addition to all these usage areas, it provides strong data on cognitive processing areas that need to be intervened in order for students who have high cognitive performance but cannot reveal their real learning performance due to the incoordination between cognitive processing areas.

The CAS Test is a test consisting of 4 scales and 12 subtests developed to evaluate the Planning, Attention, Concurrency and Sequential Cognitive processing domains of individuals aged 5-17, based on the Pass theory. Its implementation takes between one and two hours. CAS Test (Cognitive Assessment System) roughly means Cognitive Assessment System. CAS Test; It is arranged in two separate forms as 5 – 7 and 8 – 17 years old.

The characteristics that the subtests in the CAS Test measure in the child are as follows:

  • Planning Cognitive Processing Area

Cognitive processes in which an individual determines, selects, applies, and evaluates solutions to problems. These processes include tools used to solve very complex problems.

  • Attention Cognitive Processing Area

It refers to cognitive processes involving concentration, focusing on the basic point, focusing on important information, preventing distraction, selective attention, and maintaining attention for a long time.

  • Concurrency Cognitive Processing Domain

It refers to cognitive processes such as creating a whole from parts, seeing more than one detail at the same time, understanding the relationships between words, understanding emphasis, and processing with spatial information.

  • Post-Cognitive Processing Area

It includes cognitive processes such as understanding sequential stimuli, working with a special sequence of sounds, serial organization of speech, rhythmic perception, and capacity to hold independent unit information.

If your child’s academic performance is fluctuating, his attention is distracted in a short time, he has difficulty in completing desk activities, he forgets what he has learned, has difficulty in learning, and has difficulty in using time, it is useful to consult a specialist to evaluate his cognitive processes by applying the CAS Test.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *